// IP Marketing video - START// IP Marketing video - END

10 countries make it through first Eurovision semi-final

10 countries make it through first Eurovision semi-final

PanARMENIAN.Net - The first semi-final of Eurovision, Europe's largest entertainment event, kicked off at Expo Tel Aviv in Israel on Tuesday, May 14. .

France, Germany, Spain, Italy, the United Kingdom, and Israel have been pre-qualified for the Grand Final, meaning they did not compete on Tuesday. Traditionally the host country, along with the "Big Five" in Europe, automatically qualify for the final, euronews says.

The 10 acts that earned the most points and qualified to participate in the final on Saturday are:

Greece – Katerine Duska

Belarus – Zena

Serbia – Nevena Bozovic

Cyprus – Tamta

Estonia – Victor Crone

Czech Republic – Lake Malawi

Australia – Kate Miller-Heidke

Iceland – Hatari

San Marino – Serhat

Slovenia – Zala Kralj and Gašper Šantl

The event was opened by 2018 winner Netta Barzilai from Israel, who kick-started the show with a rendition of her winning song "Toys".

Armenia's representative, Srbuk, will open the second semi-final on Thursday.

 Top stories
Tom Morello and Serj Tankian joined forces onstage at the Sonic Temple festival with a moving rendition of "Like A Stone".
Reality TV star Kim Kardashian West and artist Kanye West have welcomed their fourth child into the world.
"I think that was a really emotional thing for everybody in the band," the System Of A Down guitarist said.
Daron Malakian said their first studio effort since 2005’s Hypnotize is still nowhere close to hitting the shelves.
Partner news