Three new judges approved for Armenia top court

Three new judges approved for Armenia top court

PanARMENIAN.Net - Yervand Khundkaryan, Artur Vagharshyan and Edgar Shatiryan were approved as judges of the Constitutional Court of Armenia on Tuesday, September 15.

The ruling My Step bloc on Tuesday, September 15 confirmed the three candidates after opposition Bright Armenia and Prosperous Armenia parties said they would not participate in the vote.

A chairperson of Constitutional Court will be elected too, after the departure of top court chief Hrayr Tovmasyan.

Tovmasyan was elected in March 2018 under the provisions of the 2005 version of the Constitution. His term of office as judge and as chair would normally end in 2035, but he was removed from the position earlier in 2020, and the new Chairperson should be elected by his peers for a 6-year single term, according to the procedure prescribed by the Constitution currently in force.

 Top stories
Putin said Russia appreciates relations with Armenia, which are based on friendshop and mutual respect.
The Prime Minister could not reveal exactly how many Tor systems had been delivered due to military secrecy.
Armenian ambassador Hasmik Tolmajian thanked the Senators for the decision on December 18 evening.
Artsrun Hovhannisyan said that only after the Armenian side’s retaliatory fire did the Azerbaijani troops cease shooting.
Partner news