U.S. Embassy urges citizens against traveling to Ararat, Vayots Dzor, Syunik

U.S. Embassy urges citizens against traveling to Ararat, Vayots Dzor, Syunik

PanARMENIAN.Net - The U.S. Embassy in Yerevan has added three Armenian provinces – Ararat, Vayots Dzor, and Syunik – in its list of places that American citizens are urged to avoid traveling to, amid hostilities in Nagorno-Karabakh.

"The U.S. Embassy in Armenia urges U.S. citizens to exercise caution when traveling within Armenia. The U.S. Embassy has instructed Embassy employees and their families not to travel to the areas listed below and urges U.S. citizens to avoid travel to: Tavush province east of the M4 and M16 Highways north of the Dilijan National Park and up to the border with Georgia; Gegharkunik province east and south of Lake Sevan and east of the M10 Highway; All of Ararat, Vayots Dzor, and Syunik provinces," the mission said Thursday, October 29.

"Military confrontations continue in the Nagorno-Karabakh region. Do not travel to the Nagorno-Karabakh region."

Azerbaijan, with help from Turkey and Syrian and Libyan mercenaries deployed by Ankara, started a war against Karabakh (Artsakh) in the morning of September 27. The Armenian side has reported deaths and injuries both among the civilian population and the military. Foreign and local journalists too have been injured in Azeri shelling of towns and villages.

 Top stories
Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili explained that current restrictions on the land border remain in force.
Armenia believes that "the security of the population of Karabakh should first of all be ensured by the Defense Army".
Mirigian, who lived with her daughter and son-in-law in the same Balboa Park house she bought in 1950, died on February 12
The procedure applies both to foreigners who need a visa and to citizens of countries that have a visa-free regime with Karabakh.
Partner news