Armenia's opposition "I Have Honor" bloc going to parliament

Armenia's opposition

PanARMENIAN.Net - Armenia's opposition "I Have Honor" bloc, created by ex-President Serzh Sargsyan and the former head of the National Security Service Artur Vanetsyan, has decided to accept the parliamentary mandates they secured in the June 20 elections, Hayrenik party press secretary Sos Hakobyan said on Wednesday, July 21, reports.

The bloc was created in early 2021 when the Republicans and Hayrenik (Homeland) party decided to team up for the elections.

Hakobyan noted that no MP-elects from "I Have Honor" have given up their seats in the parliament, adding that withdrawals are unlikely, reports.

Seven lawmakers from the bloc – Artur Vanetsyan, Taron Margaryan, Anna Mkrtchyan, Ishkhan Zakaryan, Hayk Mamijanyan, Taguhi Tovmasyan and Tigran Abrahamyan – are heading to the National Assembly.

As reported earlier, Hayastan (Armenia), another opposition bloc, will be accepting the mandates too.

Caretaker Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan’s Civil Contract party won 54% of the vote, while Hayastan (Armenia) bloc headed by second President Robert Kocharyan secured 22% of the ballots. "I Have Honor" bloc, meanwhile, secured less than 5% -f the vote

 Top stories
Yerevan expects the Russian peacekeepers to ensure the withdrawal of Azerbaijani troops that have invaded Karabakh.
The Security Council of Armenia drew the attention of Russia and the CSTO on Azerbaijan's continuous aggression.
Karapetyan said Armenia was expecting Zas in May, when the situation in the region got quite tense, but no such trip happened back then.
The Armenian Foreign Ministry condemned Azerbaijan's actions which it said undermines regional peace and security.
Partner news