Ishkhan Saghatelyan elected as Vice-President of Armenian parliament

Ishkhan Saghatelyan elected as Vice-President of Armenian parliament

PanARMENIAN.Net - Opposition lawmaker Ishkhan Saghatelyan was elected as Vice-President of the Armenian National Assembly on Friday, August 6.

103 members of parliament participated in voting on Friday, including 64 in favor of Saghatelyan's candidacy, 37 against, and two invalid ballots.

On Thursday, the Armenian parliament failed two attempts to elect Saghatelyan in the post. In order to be elected in the post, the lawmaker needed to collect at least 54 votes, but he fell short of the threshold both times due to invalid ballots.

Alen Simonyan from the ruling Civil Contract party was earlier elected as the President of Parliament, while Ruben Rubinyan and Hakob Arshakyan, also from Civil Contract, were named his deputies. The Armenian National Assembly has three Vice-Presidents.

 Top stories
Yerevan expects the Russian peacekeepers to ensure the withdrawal of Azerbaijani troops that have invaded Karabakh.
The Security Council of Armenia drew the attention of Russia and the CSTO on Azerbaijan's continuous aggression.
Karapetyan said Armenia was expecting Zas in May, when the situation in the region got quite tense, but no such trip happened back then.
The Armenian Foreign Ministry condemned Azerbaijan's actions which it said undermines regional peace and security.
Partner news