Sweden to reintroduce entry ban on travelers from Armenia

Sweden to reintroduce entry ban on travelers from Armenia

PanARMENIAN.Net - The Swedish Government has decided to ban from entering the country all persons travelling from Armenia, Albania, Azerbaijan, Brunei, Japan, and Serbia since they have been removed from the list of epidemiologically safe third countries.

The decision to ban entry for the six countries has been announced by the Ministry of Justice of Sweden and will enter into force next Monday, September 20, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

“The Government has adopted amendments to the temporary ban on entry into Sweden. The decision means that the ban will be reintroduced for entry from a number of countries in accordance with the Council of the European Union’s updated recommendations for travel into the EU Member States,” the statement of the Ministry of Justice reads.

This means that starting from Monday, only travelers reaching Sweden for absolutely necessary purposes can enter from Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Brunei, Japan, and Serbia. Travel for essential purposes is only allowed to those who hold a Swedish residence permit, travellers who transit through the territory of Sweden, healthcare workers, travellers who carry out essential duties, researchers in health and medical care, and elderly staff, among others.

Vaccinated travelers may soon be exempted from the entry ban, but an official statement regarding the matter hasn’t been given yet.

 Top stories
The two met on Wednesday, December 1 on the sidelines of NATO foreign ministers' meeting in Latvia's capital Riga.
Nikol Pashinyan, Vladimir Putin and Ilham Aliyev will hold trilateral talks in Sochi on November 26, the Kremlin reveals.
Assistant House Speaker Katherine Clark has slammed Azerbaijan for its latest "unprovoked attack" on Armenia.
The Kremlin has said the consent and readiness of all parties is necessary for an Armenia-Russia-Azerbaijan summit to happen.
Partner news