Ukraine to hold OSCE Chairmanship in 2013

PanARMENIAN.Net - Ukraine will hold the OSCE Chairmanship in 2013, foreign ministers from the 56 OSCE participating States decided today.

The decision was taken by the required consensus in a silence procedure.

Kazakhstan chairs the OSCE in 2010, and Lithuania will chair the Organization in 2011. Ireland will hold the 2012 OSCE Chairmanship.

The Chairperson-in-Office is the foreign minister of the country that holds the Chairmanship. Kazakhstan's Foreign Minister and Secretary of State Kanat Saudabayev is the current Chairperson-in-Office.

"I sincerely congratulate Ukraine on the occasion of being awarded the esteemed OSCE Chairmanship in 2013. We wish our Ukrainian partners and friends success in the implementation of this responsible mission and the proper continuation of efforts of previous Chairmanships to strengthen and develop the OSCE in light of new geopolitical realities," Saudabayev said, OSCE press service reported.

 Top stories
Authorities said a total of 192 Azerbaijani troops were killed and 511 were wounded during Azerbaijan’s offensive.
In 2023, the Azerbaijani government will increase the country’s defense budget by more than 1.1 billion manats ($650 million).
Across a swathe of southern Turkey, people sought temporary shelter and food in freezing winter weather.
The earthquake caused a temporary blackout, damaged many buildings and closed a number of rural roads.
Partner news