May 24, 2022 - 12:33 AMT
Deputy PM Grigoryan to chair Armenia's border commission

Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan on Monday, May 24 signed a decree on the establishment of a commission on border demarcation and border security between Armenia and Azerbaijan,

The Commission is chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Mher Grigoryan and also includes a Deputy Foreign Minister, a Deputy Defense Minister, Deputy Justive and Territorial Administration Ministers, Armenia's Representative on International Legal Affairs and several other officials.

Also Monday, Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev signed a decree of his own to establish the country's state commission for the delimitation of border with Armenia.

Azerbaijan's commission is chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Shahin Mustafayev and also includes senior officials of 22 agencies, including deputy prime minister of the Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic.

The establishment of the commissions by the two countries came a day after European Council President Charles Michel hosted Aliyev and Pashinyan for a third trilateral meeting in Brussels since last December.

In a press statement following the meeting, Michel announced on Sunday, Nay 22 that the two countries had agreed to initiate the border delimitation process "in the coming days".