Nobel physics prize goes to D. Thouless, D. Haldane, M. Kosterlitz

Nobel physics prize goes to D. Thouless, D. Haldane, M. Kosterlitz

PanARMENIAN.Net - David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz won the Nobel prize in physics on Tuesday, October 4, The Guardian reports.

The prize has gone to three physicists working in the field of condensed matter physics.

They discovered totally unexpected behaviours of solid materials - and came up with a mathematical framework (in the field of topology) to explain these weird properties. The discoveries have paved the way for designing new materials with all sorts of novel properties.

The Nobel Assembly speaker brought out a cinnamon bun, a bagel and pretzel to explain what topology means. He said that if you are a topologist there is only one interesting way in which these pastries differ - the bun has no hole, the bagel has one and the pretzel has two.

 Top stories
The company got its first break with a contract to build code-making machines for U.S. troops during World War II.
The study new found that ocean temperatures in the last decade have been the warmest on record.
The deal will involve the duchess doing a voiceover in return for a donation to Elephants Without Borders.
The story by Chris McCormick follows two cousins in Soviet Armenia who consider themselves brothers.
Partner news