Armenia to join other CIS countries in space research cooperation

Armenia to join other CIS countries in space research cooperation

PanARMENIAN.Net - The member states of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) will join forces to cooperate in space research and industry , TASS reports

The CIS currently includes Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Under the deal, the participants will jointly research space and planets, design spacecraft and their elements, create and develop ground infrastructure, conduct remote sensing of the Earth, protect the space environment, carry out space missions and train specialists for the space industry.

"The aim of the agreement is to lay the legal and organizational foundation for multilateral cooperation in the domain of research and use of space for peaceful means and to contribute to preparation and signing of other agreements… on practical aspects of joint space activities," the document reads.

The Russian government expects to sign the deal during the meeting of the CIS Council of Heads of Government, to be held in Astana on Friday and attended by Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev.

 Top stories
The public learnt about the mass torture in 2019, when the details of the case gradually began to be revealed.
The Babakyar mountains includes territory from all the South Caucasian countries - Azerbaijan, Armenia and Georgia.
The House of Representatives overwhelmingly voted Tuesday, October 29 to officially recognize the Armenian Genocide.
French actor of Armenian descent Charles Gérard died September 19 at the age of 96, Figaro reports.
Partner news