9 IRGC members resign to run for parliamentary elections in Iran

PanARMENIAN.Net - 9 members of Iranian Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) have resigned to participate in parliamentary elections.

As the head of Iran's Election Headquarters Solat Mortazavi announced earlier, 52 government officials have handed in their resignations in order to run as candidates in the upcoming parliamentary elections.

All the resignations had been approved, including "four deputy governors, seven municipal chiefs, two prefects and 30 executive chiefs from various branches of the government and three members of the clergy."

It has also been announced that 90 members of the Open University staff and 38 mayors and deputy mayors from across the country have stepped down in order to join the campaign race.

According to Iran's election law, government officials who intend to run must resign six months in advance, Iranian media reported.

 Top stories
The earthquake caused a temporary blackout, damaged many buildings and closed a number of rural roads.
The Prosecutor’s Office has released surveillance footage and said that one of the detainees in the case, Iveri Melashvili.
Destinations welcomed 900m fewer international tourists in January–October when compared with the same period of 2019.
Austrian authorities said at least one gunman remained on the run at 1am Vienna time on November 3.
Partner news